7 year anniversary

Today WordPress notified me that I have been blogging with them for 7 years. Time really flies by so fast. I can’t believe it’s been 7 years since I moved my blog to this platform. I haven’t been posting in here that much the past few years though, and that is something I regret actually. I really enjoyed making content, taking photos and sitting down to write a little every day. I guess I just never quite found my niche, or I’d vary and then my posts didn’t come out as consistent as I wanted.

I have thought about becoming active again, mostly for my own wellbeing. I think I need a crossing between a diary and somewhere to store thoughts and art from my creative episodes. And I think it needs to be accessible to others, even though that might seem strange to some. But diaries are different these days. They are no longer handwritten books that we hide in our nightstands. I do like to keep some things handwritten though so I still have a planner, it’s pink and I love it. Diaries these days are instagram, tiktok, blogs and other social media platforms now. Now our diaries don’t just contain questions we’re too afraid to ask, thoughts we think nobody else are thinking, experiences we go through alone and silent tributes to our proud or joyous moments. Our online diaries show us that we are not alone in any of these things and might give us someone to celebrate our wins with and help us up when we meet challenges. Our secrets are suddenly someone else’s secret too, and something you thought was super strange might be pretty normal.

I think I was around 17 when I started blogging. It might have been sooner too, especially if we’re counting those early piczo days. I loved piczo tbh. When I started blogging the community wasn’t really that big and I remember making so many friends by reading and commenting blogs. We would challenge and encourage each other, learn from one and other. I still follow some of them on social media today. The two topics that I was most passionate about was makeup and nail art, and those are things that do interest me to this day. I often regret not continuing the blogging and sticking to those topics because I just know I’d be so much more skilled today. Blogging really did give me motivation to do better and to always learn so I could be better at what I did. And that’s what I want, to be better.

Leave a comment