DIY: Removing Shellac at home

Before I can show you my new manicure I though I’d show you how I removed the old one. First of all I have got to say that I just love shellac! It’s true that once you try shellac you never go back. I usually do my own shellac nails at home, but as I wrote in this post I was lucky enough to win a free shellac manicure at Studio Marichen.

dsc01243

I got that manicure on January 19th and these pictures were taken on February 23rd, that’s over a month later and the polish is still flawless! Or not completely flawless, there was one tiny chip on my right forefinger and, as you can see, lost of regrowth! Even though the polish is still intact, that regrowth makes the manicure not so sexy anymore. And yes, I was too lazy to remove the polish sooner.

dsc01245

But I did remove it at home on the 23rd, and here’s how I did it! At first I got out everything that I needed including coffee, water and the television remote because you’ll be sitting for a while with your hands “tied”. I used a nail polish remover with acetone (this is important), cotton pads, aluminum foil and a pair of scissors. I also had my CND flat oval brush and a nail file ready to scrape off polish and file down the nails afterwards.

dsc01252

Now that everything is in place let’s go through this step by step:

  1. Cut out pieces of aluminum foil big enough to wrap your fingertips in.
  2. You can probably cut the cotton pads in half for this step. I didn’t think about that until after I started, but that will save you lots of pads. Anyway, this is where you add nail polish remover to the pads. You should soak them a little, but not too much because it will run.
  3. Wrap the soaked cotton pads over your fingernails and seal them with aluminum foil.

dsc01260

4. Wait 10 minutes. This is why I had the coffee and television remote ready! You can’t use touch screens with aluminum foil on your fingertips you know. But drinking chococino with caramel while watching Modern Family is perfect while waiting for the shellac to soften.

dsc01264

5. Remove the pad and aluminum on one nail and scrape the shellac off. Continue on the next finger and so on, one by one until they’re all uncovered.

dsc01273

6. File down any excess shellac left on the nail (use a buffer if you have one). Now they are ready for a new manicure!

dsc01274

 

Leave a Reply

